2017 New Zealand Television Awards winners announced

It’s been a five year wait – but the New Zealand Television Awards are back. And real life biopics were the big winners on the night.
Loading the player...

The who’s who of the television industry gathered in Auckland tonight for the New Zealand Television Awards.

Jean, the drama about the life of celebrated aviator Jean Batten was the big winner on the night, taking out four awards including best actress for Kate Elliott, best director for Robert Sarkies and Best Feature Drama.

Kate admitted she didn’t know much about Jean Batten before taking on the role.

“I’m typecast as a difficult woman and those women never get cast or get stories made about them. But I celebrate it. To be honest, I barely knew anything about [Jean Batten] before we started filming. I didn’t even know the airport was named after her!”

Kate Elliott won Best Actress for her portrayal of Jean Batten in ‘Jean.’ Photo / Getty Images

Dean O’Gorman won the best actor award for his portrayal of George Lowe in Hillary, the drama about the life of Sir Edmund Hillary.

“It was scary being up on stage” he said. “It’s all the people I’ve worked with in the industry and there’s no script or character to hide behind. It’s quite a rush.”

Dean O’Gorman receives his Best Actor award for his portrayal of George Lowe in Hillary. Photo / Getty Images

Newshub also did well, winning the Best News Coverage gong for their reporting of the Kaikoura earthquake. And presenter Mike McRoberts took out the Best Presenter: News and Current Affairs award ahead of colleagues Kanoa Lloyd and Jesse Mulligan.

Speaking after receiving the award, Mike told Woman’s Day “It’s a real affirmation of what we do and the product we present. Newshub has been through a lot of changes and it’s such a great show. I’ve always believed we’ve got the best people.”

“Sam [Hayes] and I are going great as a team, and we’ve got a fantastic team of reporters and craftspeople … It’s just all starting to fire!”

Mike McRoberts with his award for Best Presenter: News and Current Affairs. Photo / Getty Images

800 Words edged out Westside and Cleverman to take out Best Drama Series and Three’s 7 Days won Best Comedy or Entertainment Programme. The award didn’t come as a surprise to Anna Jullienne.

“I was very confident. I’d already Instagrammed that we won before the awards started. I knew it was coming!”

The cast of 800 Words with their award for Best Drama Series. Photo / Getty Images

And one of our favourite women, Toni Street won the Woman’s Day Television Personality of the Year award, as voted by the magazine’s readers.

“I didn’t prepare a speech at all and when I was watching all the other winners pull out their bits of paper” she said.

“I was like, ‘Oh, God, if I win this, I don’t have any idea what to say.’ Hopefully it was OK. I’ll get the debrief from my husband after.”

For the full list of winners see below. And for all of the gossip from the night and extra pages of photos make sure you grab a copy of next week’s Woman’s Day.

New Zealand On Air Best Drama Series

800 Words 2

Images & Sound Best Feature Drama


New Zealand On Air Best Factual Series

Why Am I? – The Science of Us

New Zealand On Air Best Documentary

Making Good Men

Best Reality Series

Songs from the Inside III Christchurch

Best Lifestyle Programme

Karena & Kasey’s Kitchen Diplomacy

Best Current Affairs Programme

The Politician, The Police and The Payout, 20 June 2017

New Zealand On Air Best Web Series

Loading Docs

Planet Fun Best Children’s Programme

Terry Teo

Te Māngai Pāho Best Māori Programme

The Hui

Best Pasifika Programme

TalesOfTime – The Coconet TV

Best News Coverage

Kaikoura Earthquake, Newshub Team

Best Sports Programme

Shaun Johnson: Across The Mekong

Best Live Event Coverage

International Rugby: All Blacks vs British & Irish Lions 1st Test, SKY TV

Best Comedy or Comedy Entertainment Programme

7 Days

Best Director: Documentary or Factual

Mitchell Hawkes, Born This Way: Awa’s Story

Best Director: Drama

Robert Sarkies, Jean

Best Director: Multi Camera

Mitchell Hawkes, Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards 2016

Best Script: Comedy

Millen Baird & John Argall, Darryl: An Outward Bound Story.

Best Script: Drama

Paula Boock & Donna Malane, Jean

Godfrey Hirst Best Actress

Kate Elliot,Jean

Selaks Taste Collection Best Actor

Dean O’Gorman, Hillary

SKYCITY Best Presenter: Entertainment

The Topp Twins – Jools & Lynda Topp, Topp Country Season Two

Woman’s Day Television Personality Of The Year

Toni Street

Best Presenter: News and Current Affairs

Mike McRoberts

TV Legend

John Barnett

Get Woman’s Day home delivered!  

Subscribe and save up to 29% on a magazine subscription.

Related stories